2014 Circle of Life Award® Recognizes Innovative Providers of End-of-Life Care

For Immediate Release:
July 30, 2014

NHPCO and NHF salute the distinguished honorees that are models for the field

(Alexandria, Va) – National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and the National Hospice Foundation honor the recipients of the 2014 Circle of Life Award®.  Presented on July 21 at the American Hospital Association’s annual summit held in San Diego, the award celebrates innovation in end-of-life care and highlights programs that demonstrate superior vision, depth, and scope.  

The 2014 Circle of Life Award honorees are:

  • Baylor Health Care System Supportive and Palliative Care Services, Dallas, Texas
  • Lehigh Valley Health Network, Allentown, Pennsylvania
  • Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital and Foundation, Yakima, Washington

In announcing the honored recipients, AHA emphasized that the programs share overriding themes of creating and championing the role of palliative care through the community.

In addition to the three award winners, AHA presented a Citation of Honor to the Center for Palliative and Supportive Care, Ambulatory Program, University of Alabama at Birmingham.

“These programs serve as models for us all as we move forward in our shared goal of providing the highest quality of care for all those we serve,” said J. Donald Schumacher, NHPCO and NHF president and CEO. “We are proud to celebrate those care providers that are leading the way in innovation and quality care delivery.”

Since 2000, the Circle of Life Award has honored programs that demonstrate excellence and innovation in palliative and end-of-life care. Further information about the honorees and the Circle of Life Award is available at the AHA website.

The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and the National Hospice Foundation are major sponsors of the 2014 award, as is the American Hospital Association and the Catholic Health Association of the United States.

Cosponsors are the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association & the National Board for Certification of Hospice and Palliative Nurses & the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Foundation, and the National Association of Social Workers.

The 2014 Circle of Life Awards are supported in part by the California HealthCare Foundation, based in Oakland and the Cambia Health Foundation.

Left to right: Dr. Jonathan Perlin, American Hospital Association Board; Dr. Elizabeth Kvale, University of Alabama Birmingham; Diane Patterson, Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital; Donna Stevens, Lehigh Valley Health Network; Dr. Robert L. Fine, Baylor Health Care System; Mary Starmann-Harrison, AHA’s Executive Committee.


Anita Brikman
NHPCO Senior Vice President, Strategic Communications
Ph: 703-837-3154

Read the American Hospital Association press release.